Forum

Welcome to the Marine Electronics Forums presented by Panbo and SailBits.

[Solved] Connecting a Raymarine Autopilot system to a Garmin NMEA 2000 instrument system  

 

Robert Sardo
(@rsardopearson1982)
New Member
Joined: 8 months ago
Posts: 2
April 18, 2018 1:57 pm  

I want to run the Raymarine EV-100 control head communication through the Garmin NMEA 2000 system. The Raymarine p70 control head is in an instrument pod with the Garmin display, at the helm. Can this be accomplished with an adaptor cable and an additional tee connector?

The EV-100 drive output will be routed normally through a hole in the cockpit floor. I want to avoid a third hole in the cockpit floor.

Thank you,

Bob Sardo

 

 

 

 


ReplyQuote
Steve Mitchell
(@stevemitchell)
Member Moderator
Joined: 9 months ago
Posts: 57
April 18, 2018 2:10 pm  

Hi Bob, 

Let me see if I understand correctly:

p70 control head & Garmin display are at the helm
EV-100 ACU and EV-1 compass somewhere else

You want to have the p70 connected to a NMEA 2000 bus that the Garmin already has, and the EV-100/EV-1/etc. that is somewhere else to also connect into the NMEA 2000 bus wherever it is, without having to make a new hole/cable run from the helm to that location?

If that is the case, that is exactly how I have mine configured, although I have Raymarine and B&G chart plotters at the helm instead of Garmin. My setup is thus:

Helm - B&G chart plotter, Raymarine chart plotter, Raymarine p70s control head, Raymarine i70s display. All are connected to SeaTalkNG or NMEA 2000 (it's the same) with various cables. 

One cable goes from the helm out to the rest of the NMEA 2000 bus. 

Raymarine ACU and EV1 course computer are down in the bowels of the boat. They connect to the NMEA 2000 network and work fine with the remote p70s.

Editor, SailBits.com


ReplyQuote
Ben Ellison
(@ben-ellison)
Member Admin
Joined: 10 months ago
Posts: 61
April 18, 2018 2:18 pm  

That should work fine, Bob. I had the EVO sensor on my NMEA 2000 network for a year or two and it provided solid Heading and other info to Garmin and other displays. You'll need a Ray STNG adaptor cable with a DeviceNet Male connector, which come in 3 lengths:

http://www.raymarine.com/view/?id=5536&collectionid=9&col=1617

PS Steve posted while I was finding that Raymarine page 😉


ReplyQuote
Robert Sardo
(@rsardopearson1982)
New Member
Joined: 8 months ago
Posts: 2
April 19, 2018 9:39 am  

Thank you Steve & Ben.

Your information has reassured me that I can install this system successfully. 

This technical site has been a great resource. I’m glad I decided to become a member.

Bob Sardo


ReplyQuote
Share:


  
Working

Please Login or Register