The Panbo Forum

Return to Panbo Forum main page »

Mikko

NMEA2000 to WiFi

Vote 0 Votes

I'm a marine electronics newbie planning a NMEA2000 network on to a 35 feet sailboat. Essentially Airmar pb-200 and DST-800 to couple of instrument displays. Also, I would like to get data via wireless network to an iPad+iNavX . I would not like to have a laptop or other power hungry server on board, but have not found a clear solution yet.

Do I have to first do conversion from 2000 to 0183 and then transmit to an ad hoc WiFi adapter or are there dedicated and simple solutions available to transmit data via WiFi directly from NMEA2000 network? Or should I try to stay in 0183 altogether?

All input appreciated!

- Mikko

31 Replies

• Wish I had an answer for you (getting data out to an iPad wirelessly without involving a PC). I suspect when the solution arrives, it will be via bluetooth instead of wi-fi first.

An uninformed guess is that TackTick, which already uses bluetooth, will be the first to make boat data available to an Apple or Android device. Should I be right, you may be able to use TackTick's NMEA-1083 interface to get the PB200 wind information included in the bluetooth stream to the ipad.

There is a cable available for the PB200 that makes the output available via both 0183 and 2000. The 2000 output has advantages, but in this case the 0183 output might meet your needs soonest.

• We are using the Digi Connect Wi-SP to get NMEA-0183 data out to iPhone/iPod/iPad running iNavX without need of a PC or Mac ..

http://www.digi.com/products/serialservers/digiconnectwisp.jsp

http://www.macsailing.net/fbb/showtopic.php?tid/1178/

N2K is more of a challenge, but MacENC running on a Mac will take the N2K and convert to N-0183 for iNavX. Uses Actisense NGT-1 gateway.

• I seem to one of a few that continue living exclusively in the NMEA 0183 world.

I have NMEA 0183 data on ethernet via a Moxa interface and then available on Wifi via a Cradlepoint access point. See: