The Panbo Forum

Return to Panbo Forum main page »

Bill Finkelstein

Nobeltec Self Distructing? No 4 GB OS support!

Vote 1 Vote

Hi Everyone!

Don't know for certain, but it sure looks to me like Nobeltec is self destructing. In any case, they have a growing number of ex and soon to be ex customers.

We have Visual Navigation Suite (VNS) onboard Raptor Dance is Mexico and I'm an officer of the Vallarta Yacht Club. We recently had about 5 or 6 members and former VNS customers who got new Laptops. Since they ordered powerful laptops, with more than 4 Gb of main memory - they came with 64 Bit Visa. No joy - there new laptop would not run their copy of VNS. So they abandoned Nobeltec.

Nobeltec is quite adamant that they only support 32 bit OS's and that they have no plans to support 64 bit Visa or Windows 7.

To me, that means Nobeltec's lifespan will be very short as 32 bit laptops are too wimpy for many of us "power users".

Oh by the way - their charts for Mexico also are horrid and have been for quite some time: 1 to 3 miles off with no promise to improve. You get all the usual excuses from them about "legal consequences" of using non-official charts.

FWIW - most of us in Mexico use Google Earth when we need an accurate overview of a new anchorage - plus local knowledge from other cruisers. The guidebooks are some help, but they have a some inaccurate data too (we've pulled a few boats off the mud in Barra de Navidad who followed the advice in cruising guides).

So we will be upgrading our boat computers this summer and are looking for a good program (Coastal Explorer?) that supports 64 Bit OS's and hopefully has decent charts for Mexico.

Any recommendations?

Regards,
Bill Finkelstein
SV Raptor Dance

19 Replies

• I was not entertained by this post. You could get a recommendation here, without trashing your current vendor, by telling us what kind of boat you have, how you use it, etc.